Everything changes

Screenshot-368Screenshot-367

Work was going well and I was very happy. It was Spooky Day and we invited the whole neighbourhood and all of our friends and family to a huge party in our tiny house. Great idea, right?

Screenshot-369

Dad dressed up as something…I’m not really sure. He wore a suit and gloves, played tricks and gave kids candy. He’s like a kid sometimes. I can see a twinkle in his eyes like a teenager’s when he kisses mom. Normally it would be gross, but after so many years of being alone, it’s nice to see her happy.

I still don’t know why he left though. I do wonder.

The party left early in the morning, and I was about to go upstairs and get ready for bed when a car pulled around. Mom came over to me ad told me not to worry, but to get in. I don’t know what it was, but there was something in her eyes that looked scared. Aunt Cassie and i got in the back, mom got in the passenger seat, and in a brief exchange, dad got in the drivers seat.

I had no idea what was going on, but the further we drove away, the more tired I got, and I eventually fell asleep.

Screenshot-372

When I woke up, we were somewhere else. I didn’t know where.

Screenshot-371

Somewhere along the shore, in a small town with a name I didn’t know.

Everything was already there. Everything that we ever loved or owned, alopng with a few new things. I didn’t even kno we could afford this. How had we been living in such a small house for so long and then go to this? I didn’t want to ask.

Screenshot-370

I found mom on the drive. It was Cassie’s birthday that day, and she was hanging balloons everywhere.

I asked her what was wrong, what was happening, why we were here and how I got into bed all in a single breath.

She sighed.

And explained.

“There must always be a Roby in Hidden Springs. Your father fled, but someone thinks that he should have stayed. And you’re his firstborn daughter. They believe that the duty has passed to the next fertile member of the family. And that’s you. Three and a half minutes older than Bree. Apparently that still counts.” She laughed…but it was sad.

All I could do was hug her and let her explain the rest. She explained dad’s history, why she’d be on the phone so often and cry so much when Bree and I were kids, how she felt when he came back. It felt like some sort of twisted fairytale.

 “Darcy, you can’t stay here.” She said, tearfully. “You’re in danger. You’ll be forced to go to Hidden Springs, marry someone you don’t love and then you and your children and your childrens children will never be able to escape. You’ll be a caged dove. And I know how desperately you need to fly.”

I hated to admit it, hated to say…she was right. What she was saying…was just like her. logical and emotional all wrapped up in the same thing. We both cried. I looked for a new job. We celebrated Cassie’s birthday, mom’s birthday and dad’s birthday. They were all within three days.

And then it was time.

I had to go.

That last night, my dad sat me down and told me how dangerous these people could be. People looking to take me back to Hidden Springs, people looking to take revenge for my dad leaving. I didn’t know why it was so important. I asked. he said it was something to do with the power of the town.

We had a family dinner, watched movies, and then in the morning, with my bags packed, and Monty in his carrier, I left.

Screenshot-389

Appaloosa Plains. Small, but with a gaming industry, apparently. Quiet. Somewhere to hide and thrive.

Screenshot-391Screenshot-390Screenshot-394

And to love.

Benjamin Schmidt.

The first time I’ve ever felt this way.

Screenshot-395Screenshot-396

Screenshot-398Screenshot-403

Months passed. We fell in love. We moved him into my little house, along with his dog, Ralston.

All was well.

Screenshot-404

All was good

Screenshot-407

We were happy.

Screenshot-413

But that was before the fire.

Screenshot-415

Before my life flashed before my eyes.

Screenshot-416

Before I realised I’d never be truly safe.

Screenshot-419

But all he wanted to do was protect me, and love me.

So we fled together into the night.

One thought on “Everything changes

Leave a comment